Working Student

Want to learn about horses?

Want to learn about horses on daily basis?

Want to build on your skills around horses and the barn?

Willing to put the time and effort into working around horses?

Would you like lessons on riding or help with being a better rider?

This is a NON-Stipend position in exchange for room & meals. This is an "on site" position. Must be drug and alcohol free. We do not allow it on the property. We will check references, Facebook pages, and if necessary do background checks

We are looking for someone for 1-3 months to help here at the facility who wants to build on their horse skills/knowledge or learn about horses. This position is basically a "grunt" work job. Helping where needed and can. This is anything from feed times, mucking stalls, helping clean barn, putting hay out, doing water tanks, and much more. You will have the change to learn to ride or take lessons after all chores are completed and the trainer is here.

Must be an EARLY riser. Opportunity to learn--video library, build your knowledge/confidence, help horses that oridinarily would not have a second chance at life. We do a lot of medical here and you can gain insight into this by being here also. Someone willing to work with young horses, inexperienced horses. Someone with people skills who can work with the volunteers who come here to learn.

Someone with initiative and organized, people skills, not afraid of physical work. Someone who can work independantly-- no hand holding. No princesses or entitled attitudes - We don't do drama. Someone 19 or older, single. Proper barn attire MANDATORY. 

Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate pets or additional horses. We currently have 8 dogs on property/in house and cats at the barn, one in house (diabetic). Dogs love attention so must love dogs.

Job Benefits:

Benefit from helping horses have a second chance at life as well as helping others learn. Work reference for those who stay for a minimum of 3 months. Opportunity to work with various breeds, temperaments, levels of training and more. A way to challenge yourself to build on skills you want to develop.

Accommodations:

Free Room/Board/Meals Free wi-fi. Room in main house to stay in. Full bath in hallway, you must keep it clean as it is our "Guest" bath also. 5 miles from town, shopping. 

We provide bathroom supplies, laundry supplies. We are like "family" here, community where we all work together. We need someone we can trust with the care of our horses and to be in our home. Will pick up from airport. Can assist with transport to town. 

Days and times off can be discussed to set schedule. 

If interested email plainswindrdr@gmail.com to schedule an interview.